Home > blog > For those who want their blogs to be read by more than their friends and family

For those who want their blogs to be read by more than their friends and family

This will be the last blog post that I write for this class and I thought that after spending a semester writing blog entries, where does that leave us?

I’ve kind of become accustomed to writing one every week, so I thought, how can I transfer the skills that we’ve learned in class into the real world?

I realised that in order to be read by people other than our family or friends, we need to do more than simply produce great content because good content doesn’t necessarily translate into an audience. First we need to determine our audience and then find ways to reach them. I found a great article by Darren Rowse about 9 things that bloggers can do to be read by someone other than their mom and I just thought that I’d share the link.

Categories: blog Tags: ,
  1. October 20, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I guess one of the great things about blogs is the relational aspect. It’s like a diary… it’s like a letter. It’s not as static as a book, and you can really get to know your audience. In a way, it reminds me of the old serials like Charles Dickens used to write in the 1800s… an interesting historical circle in some ways!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

