Home > browser, web > The Safest Browser

The Safest Browser

I recently learned that Internet Explorer 8 is the safest browser out there, at the moment.

Two studies by NSS Labs compared the following browsers for browser protection against socially engineered malware and phishing:

  • Apple Safari v4
  • Google Chrome 2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer v8
  • Mozilla Firefox v3
  • Opera 10 Beta

Here’s a quick look at the results:

Comparison of Protection against Malware
malware results

Comparison of Protection against Phishing
phishing results

As you can see both studies found that Internet Explorer 8 was the safest. This is could be because Internet Explorer now has different technology. It uses SmartScreen® Filter technology. While Firefox, Safari and Chrome all use Google’s SafeBrowsing API.

Strangely, I’m using Firefox to write this blog, and the fact that Internet Explorer is the safest hasn’t changed my mind… I don’t mind, Firefox came in at second in both tests anyway.

Categories: browser, web Tags: ,
  1. August 18, 2009 at 2:48 am

    yeah, i personally prefer firefox too. IE is much slower. i really hate waiting, so i’m willing to risk the welfare of my old laptop :-p

  2. August 18, 2009 at 10:42 am

    I’m really surprised that IE is safer than Firefox. Is IE still owned by Microsoft? I would have thought that it would be a target for all sorts of nasties because of the MS affiliation.

    I use Firefox and am very happy with it – my experience of IE is that it is clunky, full of ads and slow. But, according to PC World, the slowness of IE is a thing of the past – PC World tested IE 8’s speed against Firefox 3’s and found that IE 8 beat Firefox 3 the majority of times: http://www.pcworld.com/article/161616/browser_showdown_ie_8_vs_firefox.html

    I think I’ll have to download IE 8 and give it a spin (and keep my Firefox bias in check.

    • jensblog22
      October 6, 2009 at 6:40 am

      Sorry for the late reply, but I just double checked and yes IE is still owned by Microsoft. Thanks for the link to the article.

  3. Matthew Walker
    August 31, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Might I suggest Google Chrome. I’ve used Firefox, Explorer and even Netscape and found Chrome to be by far the most compatible, user friendly and safe.

    Also I’m surprised that Explorer was found to be the safest browser. A couple of months ago it was widely reported that Explorer was the most vulnerable browser to malicious hacker attacks due to a typo that Microsoft missed during programming. This is just one article: http://www.itbusiness.ca/it/client/en/home/News.asp?id=54066&PageMem=2

    All of this was however before Microsoft introduced the new Internet Explorer 8 which has promised added user security and advanced pop-up blocking technology.

    • jensblog22
      October 6, 2009 at 6:46 am

      Really? I didn’t know that. Lucky I haven’t started using IE. I mean I know that might be a thing of the past, but I think I’ll steer clear of it just in case. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

