Home > publishing, social networking, web > Use the web to understand it

Use the web to understand it

After reading all of the set readings this week, I was most influenced by the article written by Scott Karp on Publishing 2.0 titled ‘The Only Way For Journalists To Understand The Web Is To Use It‘.

Karp is right when he says that the only way to understand the web and web writing is to get involved in web publishing. So while I had to start a blog as part of my assessment, I also decided to get more involved in other forms of web publishing.

While I’ve heard of twitter as a result of many celebrities and politicians using it. Today, I finally signed up to it.

It was different to other social networking sites that I’ve been to. I signed up and within seconds, people I don’t know started following me even though I hadn’t made any tweets.

Also interesting to know is that twitter was recently valued by an independent research firm, NeXt Up Research, at $441M-589M.

I thought this kind of related to what Sarah asked us in class about how youtube makes money and that advertising is unlikely to cover the costs of running the site. So I found it kind of strange that twitter turned down Facebook’s offer to buy it for $500M last October, especially since some suggest that sites like Facebook and MySpace are its biggest competition, and since many people still don’t know what twitter is.

  1. August 17, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I’d be inclined to also mention the author and the name of the blog when you mention the article name.
    And you mention you’ve joined Twitter but don’t give your Twitter name? I’d include it as a link to your profile page on twitter. ie
    http://twitter.com/stokely

    Remember you want your link text to tell people what the link is you’re referring them to. I like the text you used for your last two links:
    “sites like Facebook and MySpace are its biggest competition, and since many people still don’t know what twitter is.”

  2. Bianca
    September 13, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Hey!
    Wow I am shocked too that Twitter rejected Facebook’s offer. Interesting point. Meanwhile I was in the same boat as you. I had heard about this “twitter” thing but had no idea what its purpose was. Hearing about on the radio I thought I would check it out. So the end of last year I jumped on, joined and posted my first tweet – to nobody – none of my friends had even heard of it – no one was going to join because it was just ‘another facebook status’ so I resorted to following people like Perez Hilton, Britney Spears and Ellen. Clearly they do not care what I write on there – so I ha to find some friends. Eventually – the start of this year a couple of mates joined (so I had some real friends) and I stopped using it. I have literally posted maybe 3 tweets since my accounts existence (November 2007) but am proud to say they were different to my facebook statuses at the time. Either way I can’t be bothered to go on it for 160 characters or whatever is when clearly P-Diddy does not care that I ‘am doing homework’ – or does he? pfft – doubt it more and more when I think about it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

