Home > blog > How to write more interesting blogs

How to write more interesting blogs

As I said in my first post, I’ve never written a blog before, and as you can probably tell by my first post, I’m not that good at it…

So I Googled ‘blogs’ and how to write them. I read through a couple of other people’s blogs, and then I found a website called ‘problogger‘, which is basically like a blogging 101 for beginners.

So from my understanding, blogs need to be scannable, concise, and straight to the point. Like this.

An interesting fact that I came across on the same website, was that the average reader generally spends only 96 seconds reading the average blog, according to a mini study that problogger conducted.

Then I looked on youtube and I found something kind of useful for people like me who want to write a decent blog. It’s titled ‘6 ways to write more interesting blog posts‘.

It’s a starting point, I guess..

If you have any other ideas about how to make blogs more interesting, feel free to comment.

Categories: blog Tags: ,
  1. Katie Sheppet
    August 5, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Thanks Jen,

    Could definitely use some help.

    My post are more like mini essay / long ramblings. I have enjoyed writing them but they don’t look like so much fun to read…

    Thanks! 🙂

  2. damdau
    August 5, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Before I made my first post, I’d read some criticisms of K Rudd’s first foray:
    http://www.crikey.com.au/2009/07/17/ruddblog-populist-masterstroke-or-full-of-fail/

    Basically it points out that a blog entry should be a half-formed idea, in this way it should open rather than close discussion on a topic. You should use hyperlinks – the ‘currency’ of the web – where possible — unless you work for the PM’s office.

    • jensblog22
      October 6, 2009 at 6:43 am

      Thanks for the link

  3. August 17, 2009 at 7:43 am

    You can embed YouTube movies in your blog post – ask me in class if you’re not sure how. 🙂
    Also, try to avoid using link text like “same” as it doesn’t give the reader any idea what the link is actually to or about. Try making the link text “the average reader generally spends only 96 seconds reading the average blog” or preferably a shorter description of what the article you’re linking to is actually about.

    Cheers,
    Sarah

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

